Local NewsNewsPolitics & Governance

President Buhari rejects five bills from the national assembly

President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday in Abuja, rejected five bills transmitted to him by the national assembly for assent.

The president’s decision to withhold assent to the bills was conveyed via a letter read during plenary on Wednesday.

The bills rejected are: Nigerian Film Commission bill, Immigration Amendment bill 2018, Climate change bill 2018, Chartered Institute of Pension Practitioners bill 2018 and Digital Rights and Freedom bill.

The president’s reasons for not assenting to the bills, as contained in the letter, range from conflicting and duplication of duties of existing government agencies, their destructive nature as well as lack of clarity.

This comes a day after he rejected two bills passed by the legislative chamber. The development brings to 13, the number of bills Buhari has rejected in 2019.


Source: The Cable

Follow us on social media
Show More

Related Articles


Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker