Edo Election: Third  APC Governorship Candidate Emerges

The confusion rocking the just concluded  All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship  primary election in Edo State has assumed an alarming dimension as Anamero Dekeri became the third aspirant to claim victory.

Ojo Babatunde who claims he was acting on behalf of all the local government returning officers, said that Dekeri polled 25,384 votes to beat Dennis Idahosa who polled 14,127 votes to place second.

“Hon. Dekeri having met the requirements of the law and scored the highest valid votes cast have been declared winner of the election and returned elected.”

Dekeri is the member representing Etsako Federal Constituency at the House of Representatives.

A total of 12 aspirants were screened and cleared for the direct primary by the National leadership of the party, while three, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, Lucky Imasuen and Ernest Umakhihe withdrew before the election

Meanwhile, Governor Hope Uzodimma of Imo State and Chairman of the primary election committee also declared  Idahosa winner of the exercise while the returning officer for the primary, Stanley Ugboaja, declared Senator Monday Okpebholo as the APC candidate.

Follow us on social media

Rita Elenwo

Rita Aletor- Elenwo, is a professional journalist with experience in broadcast, print and online reporting. A proud citizen of Edo state, Nigeria (Esan South East Local Government) Rita had her first degree in philosophy from Ebonyi State University (2008), PGD, in Communication from the University of Port Harcourt (2020), and currently in pursuit of an MSC degree in communication. Rita (nee Aletor-) is happily married with lovely children.

Related Articles

Back to top button