Rivers Assembly Confirms Eight Commissioner Nominees

The Rivers State House of Assembly, led by Victor Oko-Jumbo, has screened and confirmed eight commissioner-nominees as members of the Rivers State Executive Council.

This was at the request of the Governor Siminalayi Fubara as part of his ongoing efforts to strengthen his administration.

The commissioners-designate include, Charles Bekee, Collins Onunwo, Solomon Eke, 

Others are Dr. Peter Medee, Barr. Elloka Tasie-Amadi; Basoene Benibo; Tambari Sydney-Gbara, and Dr. Ovy Chukwuma

This exercise marks the second exercise to be conducted under Oko-Jumbo’s leadership.

The first, which took place last week, saw the successful screening and confirmation of Dagogo Iboroma, a Senior Advocate of Nigeria, as the Commissioner for Justice and Attorney General of the state.

During the debate, the Leader of the House, Sokari Goodboy, pleaded with the House to confirm the nominees since most of them have served in various capacities in the state.

The Speaker, Victor Oko-Jumbo, however, used the opportunity to commend Governor Siminalayi Fubara on his achievements in the last year.

He also called on the governor to remain focused and continue to deliver the dividends of democracy to the people, assuring him of the Assembly’s support.

Follow us on social media

Rita Elenwo

Rita Aletor- Elenwo, is a professional journalist with experience in broadcast, print and online reporting. A proud citizen of Edo state, Nigeria (Esan South East Local Government) Rita had her first degree in philosophy from Ebonyi State University (2008), PGD, in Communication from the University of Port Harcourt (2020), and currently in pursuit of an MSC degree in communication. Rita (nee Aletor-) is happily married with lovely children.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button